Thursday, November 09, 2006

5 Poker players win seats to Aussie Millions

Serious poker action for serious poker players was the feature of the seventh All Africa Poker Tournament hosted at the Orion Piggs Peak Hotel and Casino, in Swaziland, on Friday 3rd November and Saturday 4th November 2006.
The 90 highly sought after seats were filled by tense and excited players, who hid their individual strategies behind a mix of well practiced poker faces, bold sunglasses and personas. With a total prize pool of R2,355,000 up for grabs and five all expenses paid packages to the Aussie Millions in Melbourne, the game was on.

The thirty hour marathon held over two days was yet another great success in the All Africa Poker series. The female entrants were a force to be reckoned with, Karin Hasseriis being the top lady finisher, placing 14th overall. Father and son players, Neville and Ryan Eber, were fated to play at the same table for much of the tournament and had to battle it out at the final table.

Ryan Eber was ultimately the Million Rand victor, winning with a starting hand of Ace King. Neville placed fifth and will be joining Ryan and the remainder of the top five at the Aussie Millions in January 2007.

After the tournament, Ryan said, “I feel very overwhelmed and excited to have won the All Africa. It is really great that I get to go to Australia with my dad, and play in the Aussie Millions. It was difficult playing on the same table as him, but I tried not to let it affect my game and just focused on winning”.

The tournament was once again filmed and all the exciting action will be shown on DSTV Channel 121 from the middle of December. “Piggs Peak Casino is in the unique position to be able to show viewers all the highlights and excitement of this very popular tournament. Those who were not able to come through to Swaziland, will be able to watch the latest and past tournaments on the All Africa Pokerzone”, says Wendy Graaf, Group Marketing Manager.

Tournament organizers announced that the next All Africa Poker Tournament will be held from 23rd to 25th February 2007.

Article Source

Other Articles


Post a Comment

<< Home